Flats

I’m in between projects right now.  I just finished a backlog of freelance work, and this is the first time in a while that I haven’t had any outstanding work to do.  It feels good to relax, but it’s time to get back on the horse.

A while ago I made a post about my intended Akira project, to turn a single page of graphic novel into an animated piece.  The project was put on hold until the arrival of my Cintiq, as I also intended to try my hand at purely digital animation.  Well, the device in question is here and now it’s time to get back to work.

So here’s something to show the first steps: turning the backgrounds of the comic book pages into full-color pieces, ready to get plopped into After Effects.  This is the most basic of the basic: roughing out flats.

A flatted out first background.

Well, back to work for me.  Gotta finish these up, make ’em all pretty and shiny.

