1: Above the Clouds

There’s an anime series that came out around 2004 called “BECK: Mongolian Chop Squad”.  It was relatively overlooked on this side of the ocean, but to me, it holds as one of the 5 best series ever created.  Because it was about REAL people, and it felt real.  It was about a kid trying to figure out his passion in life, and discovering music, the guitar, and finding brotherhood and his place through joining a band.  I’ve pursued music as a hobby very intensely my entire life, so the raw nature of this subject really hit home with me.  But the real inspiring thing was when I realized the show wasn’t really ABOUT music, it was about pursuing whatever dream you had, and finding where you, personally, belong.  The main characters’ struggle mirrors any student of the arts’ career… starting out, practicing, and trying your best to make it big, one step up the ladder at a time.  Dealing with setbacks and the unforeseeable problems that arise from working with others; that’s what makes the show resonate with me even to this day.

There was a song on one of the soundtrack albums to the show that didn’t appear in the series.  As is common with a lot of anime series, one of the new singers, trying to make her big break, was given an opportunity to put out a single through the recording company.  The first time I heard it, I didn’t think too much of it.  It starts off REALLY poppy, so I tended to skip it.  But one time I let it play, and it quickly became one of my favorite tracks off the soundtrack (probably because of the drumming).

Anyway, it came on my shuffle while I was working yesterday, and I thought, “it would be cool to go above the clouds again, I haven’t flown in a plane in a while”.  So that’s the inspiration for today’s piece, and the story behind it.

1: A Place You Want To Go

Also, it was pointed out to me that the author of the second 30 day challenge I’ll be doing is my other good friend and college buddy Trevor McCandless.  I was unaware that this was the case, I thought they found it on the interwebbers somewhere.  But I’ll give credit where credit is due.  He wrote the list.  Also go look at his art n’ stuff.

