7: Kitties

I’ve always had a thing for cats.  Some would say that my cat obsession borders on the irresponsible.  Jacob Funk can attest to the time we got lost in a shady part of the city and I almost wandered off down an alleyway to pet a stray cat.  I will go out of my way and stop what I’m doing if there’s a possibility that a kitty may be nearby.  I don’t know why, I just love the little fuzzballs to death.

I had a cat, once upon a time.

This is him.

His name was Tumbles, so named after he fell over backwards right after I got him (then never did it again).  I got him when I was 8, and we were pretty much inseparable.  I will admit that there were times when I was young where I was a little mean to him, like all foolish young boys, but that phase quickly passed and we became best friends, especially in high school when there were long periods of time where we were the only two in the house.  I’d talk to him, just to have something to break the silence.  There was a period of time when I worked a night shift job and on my days off, at three in the morning, I really started to appreciate having another living being in the room.  When I moved off to college, Tumbles was the picture in my phone that popped up whenever my parents called from the home phone.  I loved that cat like nobody else could love a pet.

Tumbles was the first pet I ever had, and he lived to the ripe old age of 12.  I remember the day when I got the phone call from my dad that he had passed away.  He’d been a little sick the last time I’d seen him, but I’d never considered that it was the last time we’d ever hang out like pals.  It was a rough day.  I spent most of it looking at old cat pictures.

So what I want, is a cat.  I’m getting cats, soon.  I’m worried that they’ll never be able to replace Tumbles, and I’m sure that they won’t.  But the point is not to replace him, the point is for them to carve out their own little niche in my heart.

*End Sappy Post*

7: Something You Want

Tomorrow will be happy again, I promise.

