East Coastin’

I’ve been saving all of my news for when I was done with my draw challenges.  I wanted more focus to be on the artwork than on my talking, and while I did provide quite a bit of commentary on the drawings themselves, I didn’t want my news to interfere.

But yes, as many of you are already aware, I acquired a job.  Not a lousy day job, but a real job, in the industry, working in New York.  With these guys.  Also my good friend the PreAnimator (finally a link to him after all this time), who already works for the company (and actually recommended me for the gig).  It’s a three month probationary period, but I’m pretty confident I can parlay it into the full-time gig.

This means a few things:

1. I have to finish up the last piece of work on WeDIG before I run off to New York
2. I have no idea when I’ll be able to get back into personal projects (i.e. Pearls and the Akira short)
3. Sometime in the middle of the draw challenge I reached over 1000 views.

1.  We Did It Games sophomore effort was supposed to be released at the beginning of August, but all of us (all three of us) got caught up in our day-job stuff and it’s still not finished.  I got handed a very important piece of work involving animating our boss character, and I just finished inking him for cleanup yesterday.  Once he’s colored and shaded, I believe all that’s left is some programming, background art, and testing.  None of that is my responsibility, so it will all come down to waiting.

I have to say, I’ve played a lot of flash games, and while I’m not sure if we’re going to win any awards, if nothing else this game will be one of the prettiest flash games you’ve ever played.  Animated by trained animators with a passion for their craft.  No tweening shortcuts here, it’s all raw manpower and paintbrushes.  From playing the builds, it is absolutely gorgeous and I hope people realize how much extra effort it is to do something like this than just looping a few frames all day.  Get ready to have your minds blown.  BLAMMO!

This is just one piece of animation, layered together. One little set of actions. 28 lovingly crafted drawings. Not your average Flash game. 

2.  It has become quite apparent that it is going to be a large chunk of time before I have time to get back into the thick of working on my Akira project.  Definitely not until I get into the swing of things at the new job.  Last you heard of the project, I was starting work on the third background of the short.

Original page.

I ran into a little bit of a snag the last time I was working on this.  There’s a large chunk of the frame that is obscured by the bike, so I decided to try doing the bike first to get it out of the way.  Problem is, the bike itself is obscured by Kaneda’s speech bubble.  After all these years of staring at the bike and looking at the model of it that I have, I still could not wrap my head around what bits were pictures here.  Then one day in the middle of my draw challenge I was looking at it and it all made perfect sense.  I still have to fabricate a large piece of the bike to make it widescreen, but it’s not nearly as bad as it was originally.  Making everything in that background work for me is going to be a problem though, unless I play it smart and don’t draw anything obscured by the bike since it won’t be moving anyway (which is probably what will happen but might not just for fun and practice.

3.  Sometime in the middle of the draw challenge (I think it was around the time of the Kain vs. Snake illustration, my site hit a total view count of 1000.  I believe the current hit count is in the 1,400s.  I’m planning on making some special art to thank everyone, but who knows when that will get done.  Maybe by the time I finish that it’ll be time to make one for 2,000!  Thanks to everyone who keeps coming to the site and encouraging me to push my art to new levels.

*     *     *     *     *

So there you have it, everything rolled up into a nutshell.  I have no idea when you’ll hear from me again, as I get on a plane bright and early Monday and I’d like to spend what little time I have left here in Chicago with the people I care about.  Goodbye, internet, and good luck.

