Triple Combo

What’s this?!?!  Three posts in three days?!?!  I’m on fire!  APOLLO On Fire!  Get it?

ANYWAY, yesterday was quite productive on the Akira short front.  In addition to yesterday’s post, in which I gave you the juicy details on background 3, I was able to sit down and bust out backgrounds 5 and 8.  Yeah, I KNOW I said I was going to do background 4 next, but these two were in a similar situation as backgrounds 1/2.

Where Background 2 was a zoomed in version of background 1,  BGs 5 and 8 are semi-zooms of BG 3.  5 is at a much less extreme angle, and so I did have to completely redraw it, but I was able to directly tap the palette from 3 and it made the whole process go much smoother.

A more traditional angle.

BG 8 is the same angle, so I just beefed it up in a higher resolution, which requires completely redrawing it, but there was a lot of tracing involved so it went smoother.

I clipped out the edge of Kaneda’s bike, even though it was still in the frame when zoomed in. It just looked weird.

I’m now more than halfway done with the background art on this project.  It feels good to be  making some solid progress after almost two months of not-really accomplishing anything on it.  The next step is to do backgrounds 4, 6, and 7, and then I’ll be all done.

I wanted to make special feature for the official release of Pearls on DVD and Bluray, so I made a time-lapse video of the illustration process for the new boxart.  It was cool to watch an hour and a half of work shrunk down into five minutes.  My good friend the PreAnimator  (link to him again) has convinced me to do a time-lapse video for one of the Akira  backgrounds, as he’s interested to see the process.  I think it’s a pretty good idea.  I’ve decided to make a video for background 6, as it’s probably my favorite shot from the short.

The only drawback to this is that my desktop is not here.  I could, theoretically, do it on the machine I’ve been working on, but for maximum efficiency and minimum snags, I’d like to have equipment that I’m comfortable working on.  If I’m able to get the background art done before I can get my desktop here in New York, I might start animating a simple sequence while I wait!  HOORAY!

*     *     *     *     *

In NON-Akira news, the TOP SECRET PROJECT from We Did It Games is FINALLY nearing completion, a good two months after it’s self-imposed, completely arbitrary projected release date.  I was able to get a hands on with the latest build of the game yesterday and I have to say it just looks awesome, and it plays awesome, and I hope everyone’s going to love it.  It’s really exciting to see my name in the credits with a bunch of other quality talent.  I’ll keep you posted on when that’s going to be available.  (I’ll probably be shamelessly plugging it for weeks).

