Backgrounds Nearing Completion

I finished two more backgrounds yesterday.  There is only one left to go on the Akira project.

Yet another shot of this same alley.

This is only one of two downward angled shots in the short.  Kaneda is in the foreground taking up most of the frame.  There’s not a lot to say here that hasn’t been said about the other backgrounds.  The next on is probably the most boring of the entire set:

I added in the crate at the last second so that it literally wasn’t just wall texture.

Yeah.  Check out that sweet wall.  There’s not a lot to work with in that particular panel.  The comic page uses speed lines in this shot, so I had to create the entire thing from scratch.  I was looking at the previous shots from the alley, and I realized that all that would be behind Kaneda, naturally, would be the wall.  Nothing else.  I put in that crate just to break up the monotony.

So that’s where the project stands.  There’s one background left to do, but I’m saving that to do a time-lapse illustration on.  I can’t do that until I get my desktop, and who knows when that will be.

Instead of putting the project completely on hold, I’m planning on starting animation.  I’m not completely sold on the way that I recorded Kaneda’s dialogue, so I’m going to start animating shots that the Bartender is in, and also the very first shot with Kaneda, since there is no dialogue in that particular sequence.

I don’t know why, seeing as how this was the goal from the start of the project, but I’m really nervous to start.  Maybe it’s because Akira is so big and influential in my life and I don’t want to screw it up.  The work seems to be coming back into the public eye for some reason.  The 30th anniversary of the publication of the very first issue is coming up next year (and celebrating with some very awesome limited edition merchandise), and Kodansha has been re-relasing the manga in the US.  I want to do justice to my favorite series.

So yeah.  Nervous.

