Side Quest: Outer Space

There won’t be any Akira-related postings for a while.  In the interest of not over-saturating the internet with postings that are essentially all the same thing.  If some cool news related to it happens, I’ll mention it, but other than that, it’s going to be a tight ship around here on that front.

In the interest of still having some stuff to show, here’s a quick half-hour sketch featuring a generic Space Marine from the Warhammer 40K mythos.

“Life is the Emperor’s currency. Spend it well.”

I’ve been a fan of the 40K universe for over a decade now.  I’ve had an on-again, off-again relationship with it, usually depending on whether or not I could afford to play it.  I just recently acquired my first pieces in two years, and I assembled them last night.  It felt good.  40K’s been getting a lot of attention lately with the Space Marine and Kill Team games, and so there’s generally been a lot of 40K influencing me lately.

The one thing that always interested me about the mythos is the art style.  It’s an intensely bleak and gritty universe.  The style draws almost completely from gothic architecture, which is always a refreshing change of pace from the sleek glossy starships of modern science fiction.  The buildings and art convey with ease the massive scale of the universe.  Some of the artwork in the books is quite awe-inspiring.  It definitely moved me when I was 11, and it keeps moving me now as I’m 22.

