Amazing Things

I just got back from two weeks of gallivanting across the United States.  I spent some time in Chicago, some time with the family for the holidays, and then a few extra days on the east coast before heading back home.  It was a very full, very busy period, with not much time in the schedule for art.  Lots of people to see, lots of things to do, lots of business to take care of.  I barely even opened my laptop the whole time I was gone.

But now I’m back in New York, getting down to business and getting ready to do some serious artmaking.  Right before I left for my trip I made a little illustration for a friend as a Christmas present.  It’s a little Chocobo, as the person is a big Final Fantasy fan.

This is the second time a chocobo has been featured on this blog.

It’s a chocobo, those lovable flightless birds from the Final Fantasy franchise.  This particular one is based off an image that appeared in one of the instruction manuals for a PSX title… don’t remember which one.  Every game has a slightly different design for the avian creatures, and I decided to use this one.  I cartooned it up slightly, and made the pose more dynamic than traditional chocobo poses.  I also amplified the orange flaring in the tips of the feathers.  I’ve seen this technique used once in an Amano illustration, but it wasn’t featured as prominently.  I felt it gave the image a little more variance and I’m glad with the way it turned out.

I brought back a large number of things from Chicago, as I’m moving into a new place here in New York soon and I decided to get a head start on the transition process.  While I was moving other things out of the way to make room for the new, I miraculously found the flash drive that I lost right after Halloween.  The drive has all of my work on the Akira project, which was put on indefinite hiatus until I could find the original content (or suck it up enough to redo all the art) and now it has been found!  Akira shall be hit with a new fervor!  A new intensity!  It’ll be good to get back in the animation saddle again.  I’ve only done illustrations since I lost the drive in September, and I’m itching to make some stuff move!

