Mishap

This is one of those awkward posts where even as I upload the image, I already know I don’t like it.

I wanted to update the main cast from my comic book into a more modern illustration style, and this drawing of Reuben, the main antagonist in the first part of the story, is the first one to fall short.  The other characters’ design updates are merely artistic re-imaginings.  Their costumes and dress remained mostly the same; at least there were no crazy changes.  Reuben was a character that I wanted to completely redesign.  Reuben has a very sci-fi appearance in a world that is mostly grounded in reality.  I wanted to change that, bring him more in to the feel of the rest of the story, which is where this illustration comes in.

This is not canon.

As soon as I finished it, there was something about it that I didn’t like.  It was too… normal.  The PreAnimator told me later that one of the things he always liked about Reuben was that he was all cyber-ey and different from everyone.  It made him stand out as a villain.  This just makes him look like a generic terrorist.  Which he is, but still.  All the other terrorists look like this as well.

So I’m going back to the drawing board.  I decided to post this anyway because even though I don’t like the illustration in the context of the comic, there’s nothing terribly wrong with it.  I’m going to come back to Reuben later after I’ve fleshed him out on paper a bit more.  I might try a different guy later.

